Akwa Ibom State University (AKSU) is a conventional academic institution whose vision seeks to keep aflame the pursuit of Knowledge, Excellence and the spirit of enquiry. AKSU also offers opportunities for Learning and Leadership, Service and Self-actualization to all mankind, towards a Peaceful, Humane, Prosperous and just Society.

Tuesday, August 2, 2016

For all the confusion JAMB has recently caused Nigerians, Buhari fires JAMB CEO Ojerinde, 16 others

President Muhammadu Buhari yesterday sacked 16 heads of key agencies under the Federal Ministry of Education. The affected agencies are the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB), the Universal Basic Education Commission ( UBEC), National Examinations Council (NECO), Tertiary Education Trust Fund( TETFUND) and 12others.

But the President replaced the 16 vacancies and appointed a new Executive Secretary for the National Universities Commission( NUC) whose former boss, Prof. Julius Okojie completed his two-term tenure last week.

Top on the list of the appointees is the Secretary-General of the Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs, Prof. Ishaq Oloyede who is now JAMB Registrar. A statement from the Ministry of Education said: “The President has approved the appointment of 17 new Chief Executives of Parastatals and Agencies under the Federal Ministry of Education with effect from Monday, August 01, 2016.

The new 17 new appointees are:
- National Universities Commission (NUC) – Prof. Abubakar Adamu Rasheed
- Nigerian Institute for Education Planning and Administration – Prof, Mrs. Lilian Salami
- Universal Basic Education Commission – Dr. Hameed Bobboyi
- National library of Nigeria – Prof Lanre Aina
- National Examinations Council – Prof Charles Uwakwe
- National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal education – Prof Abba Haladu
- Nomadic Education Commission – Prof Bashir Usman
- National Business and technical Examinations Board – Prof Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe
- Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria – Prof Sunday Josiah Ajiboye
- Computer Registration Council of Nigeria – Afolabi Aderinto
- National Commission for Colleges of Education – Prof Bappah Aliyu
- Tertiary Education Trust Fund – Dr. Abdullahi Bichi Baffa
- National Teachers Institute – Prof Garba Dahuwa Azare
- Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria(LRCN) - Prof Michael Afolabi
- National Mathematical Centre – Prof Steven Ejugwu Onah
- Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, JAMB – Prof Ishaq Oloyede
- National Institute of Nigerian Languages – Prof Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche.

The statement said “the  17 new CEOs are invited to a meeting with the Minister on Tuesday (today) in Abuja.”

No comments :

Post a Comment